Sunday, December 3, 2023
33.2 C

    Latest Posts

    LAUTECH calls off ASUU Strike, Fixes August 18 For Resumption

    Home » LAUTECH calls off ASUU Strike, Fixes August 18 For Resumption

    The Ladoke Akintola University of Technology (LAUTECH), Ogbomoso, has again decided to reopen the institution for academic activities despite the ongoing industrial action by the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU).

    LAUTECH stated that the resumption date for academic activities for the 2021/2022 academic session would be August 18, 2022.

    This was announced in a statement released on Thursday by the university registrar, Kayode Ogunleye.

    But members of ASUU in the school, which had been on strike for the past six months, refused to resume academic activities despite the school management’s order.

    Meanwhile in another circular, titled: “Release to Staff and Students: Continuation of the First Semester of the 2021/2022 Academic Session”, and signed by the Registrar of the University, Dr. Kayode Ogunleye.

    The statement reads partly, “Upon the directive of the Visitor to the university, the management, hereby, informs all staff and students that the university will continue its academic activities for the first semester of the 2021/2022 academic session on Thursday, August 18, 2022.

    “While urging staff and students to abide by the directive, the statement further assures staff and students that the amended academic calendar for the semester will soon be made available.

    “On behalf of the Acting Vice Chancellor, Prof. M. 0. Liasu, I welcome all students back to the campus and wish them a crisis-free semester”, the statement added.

    LAUTECH, along with other public universities, has been on strike in solidarity with the Academic Staff Union of Nigerian Universities over issues concerning the operation and funding of the public university system.

    Following talks between the two states to resolve the ownership status in 2020, LAUTECH, which was a jointly owned University of the Osun and Oyo States, became an Oyo State University.

    Latest Posts

    Don't Miss