24.3 C
Tuesday, January 18, 2022

    Latest Posts

    101 soldiers ‘disappeared’ after Boko Haram’s attack in Borno

    12 officers and 89 soldiers have been declared missing by the Nigerian army in the wake of last week’s Boko Haram attacks on Marte and Dikwa local government areas of Borno State. 

    A signal dated March 1, 2021 from Operation Lafiya Dole Headquarters in Maiduguri, revealed that the soldiers were declared as deserters.

    It was alleged that three majors, three captains, six lieutenants, three sergeants and 89 soldiers fled in the aftermath of the attacks on Marte and Dikwa. 

    Daily Trust reported that the signal, signed by Col. A.O. Odubiyi, on behalf of the Theatre Commander of Operation Lafiya Dole, partly read; 

    “I am directed to connect Reference A on above subject and to respectfully forward details of additional officers and soldiers who absconded from the defensive location during the BHT attack on New Marte and Dikwa.

    “You are requested to declare the named officers and soldiers’ deserters WEF 19 Feb 21. You are also requested to cause HQ NAFC to freeze their accounts and apprehend/bring them under military escort to this Headquarters if seen within your AOR.”

    Premium Times reported that the bank accounts of the affected personnel have been frozen. The order to arrest and freezing of bank accounts of the fleeing soldiers reportedly came from authorities of Operation Lafiya Dole in Borno.

    Various formations of the army have been notified to immediately apprehend and deliver any of the soldiers found in their areas of responsibilities. See the names of the soldiers below; 

    1. GY Mohammed
    2. EP Nwangwu
    3. US Muhammad
    4. EG Utok
    5. A Ibrahim
    6. US Ibrahim
    7. ME Ochei
    8. EN Essien
    9. FC Maduako
    10. KO Adejare
    11. S Mammada
    12. YJ Ishaya
    13. Muazu Yusuf
    14. Musa Usman
    15. Idris Garba
    16. Chigbo John
    17. Aminu Mohammed
    18. Godfrey Samuel
    19. Christopher Silas
    20. Okoro Emeka
    21. Meze Hillary
    22. Zakka Peter
    23. Onyebuchi Kennedy
    24. Okunola Oluwasegun
    25. Suoyefe Abiola
    26. Mwankat Shalmak
    27. Ekekien Peter
    28. Daniel Emmanuel
    29. John Monday
    30. Yakubu Amos
    31. Aminu Saidu
    32. Pius Okoro
    33. Kenebra Shedrach
    34. Dominic Eworo
    35. Ojo Oluwasegun
    36. Nura Lawal
    37. Yakubu Suleiman
    38. Johnson Chorus
    39. Isah Shaibu
    40. Nasiru Hamisu
    41. Jibrin Sa’adu
    42. John Ukpenkune
    43. Umar Sani
    44. Mustapha Suleiman
    45. Isiaq Adam
    46. Muhammed Ahmed
    47. John Richard
    48. Kabiru Hashimu
    49. Awuna Monday
    50. Isah John
    51. Zamani Fidelis
    52. Abubakar Adam
    53. Philip Chia
    54. Ogundipe GBenga
    55. Samson Unite
    56. Francis Audu
    57. Abubakar Musa
    58. Ibrahim Adamu
    59. Sadiq Abubakar
    60. Lawal Abdullahi
    61. Ajala David
    62. Suleiman Jamilu
    63. Okoro Ama
    64. Sunday Sule
    65. Aimato Abdulsalam
    66. Abubakar Musa
    67. Suleiman Kabiru
    68. Onu Kingsley
    69. Buba Usman
    70. James John
    71. Hussaini Adamu
    72. Shamsudeen Ismail
    73. Saidu Sani
    74. Abdullahi Musa
    75. Abubakar Yahaya
    76. Edosa Aigboje
    77. Ibrahim Umar
    78. Chukwujekwu Okenwa
    79. Abdullahi Usman
    80. Ukali Emmanuel
    81. Joseph Benard
    82. Ewubare Gold
    83. Abimiku Sunday
    84. Ibrahim Mansur
    85. Joseph Ayuba
    86. Ayanyemi Tayo
    87. Remember Jeremiah
    88. Jimoh Adesina
    89. Ukwokori Precious
    90. Ayawei Ayibatemi
    91. Kalu Sunday
    92. Abdulkadir Ahmed
    93. Osakwe Festus N
    94. Badamashi Omokafe
    95. Levi Pwagureno
    96. Paul Pilate Saddam
    97. Bello Musa
    98. Moses Ayo
    99. Ademu Alih
    100. Ogobi Fredrick
    101. Benedict Uduebor

    The publication reported that soldiers attached to 15 Task Force Battalion were ambushed and dislodged after hours of intense fighting. 

    Those familiar with the matter, said the troops were overwhelmed and could not withstand the superior firepower of the terrorists. The unit then tactically retreated and relocated to Dikwa, which was attacked again.

    By Hajia R.

    - Advertisement -

    Latest Posts

    Don't Miss